VirgoVoice

I'm just sayin'

I was Just Thinking…

on December 13, 2012

I’ve been doing a lot of baking lately and there’s lot of time to spend thinking about stuff as I’m rolling dough into little balls, dozens of little round cookie balls.  One thing I wondered – again – why does vanilla extract smell SOOOO good and taste SOOOO bad when you taste it by itself. What is up with that? I bet every kid who has ever baked with vanilla for the first time has tasted it. It’s one of Mother Nature’s cruel jokes. However, I was tempted to try it again after sniffing the bottle of pure vanilla extract. It smells so good.

One other thing I thought about as I checked on the baking cookies, is the fact that recently the San Francisco Board of Supervisors had to make a decision on whether to ban public nudity in their city. There was no law against public nudity in San Francisco. Seriously, I mean, I KNOW in San Francisco public nudity is acceptable during special events, like the  Bay To Breakers Marathon, for one example. Or your in-laws are coming to town. you know, special events. I experienced public nudity first hand at Bay To Breakers this year. Ahh, no, not first hand participant, but first hand witness. I saw public nakedness at the Bay To Breakers run. But I didn’t think it was lawful to just be naked any day of the week on the streets heading to the local coffee shop for your morning caffeine. I just thought every city in America would have a ban on public nudity. Apparently not. Who knew?

I guess nudity in public adds a new meaning to every woman’s comment, “I have nothing to wear.”  Surely it shaves some time off that getting-ready-for-work routine. Public nudity didn’t seem to be any big deal in San Francisco before the topic of the ban was made public. It wasn’t a big deal because most people didn’t know it was legal, until Supervisor Scott Weiner ( real name, you can’t make this stuff up ) in 2010 made a proposal to force nudists to sit on handkerchiefs or towels  in public, according to the San Francisco Sentinel.com. That comment opened a can of worms. Following Weiner’s statement there were more than one nude-ins. Not sure what you call it when a bunch of people show up on a street corner and just hang out, figuratively. Well, you could call it frightful. Whacky. Not something I want to see on a regular basis. But the nude-ins were happening. Imagine this, if it gets to 70 degrees any day of the year in the city by the bay, it’s considered a heat wave. So, who wants to be naked on the street, especially in cool temperatures? Actually, more people than I thought. But do we really need a law to tell naked people to sit on a towel – that sounds like one of those weird but true laws still on the books in some backwoods southern town, population 186, where it’s written, ‘A woman must avert her eyes when approaching a man in leather chaps on Sunday.’

I swear, it seems to me, a lot of the people who want to go naked in public aren’t the bodybuilders, marathon runners or any other type of well muscle defined, toned bodies. There’s nothing really wrong with the ‘other’ types of bodies – it’s just human nature to appreciate the Adonis style bodies. Anyway, as of  last month, the San Francisco Board of Supervisors, narrowly passed, 6-5, the ban on public nudity measure. So the proposal to allow nakedness on my city bus bench, but only with a cloth to cover your behind is moot. I guess I can stop thinking about it now. Maybe I can start thinking about what has happened to Randy Travis after his naked  DUI/fighting/car crash incident. 🙂

3 responses to “I was Just Thinking…

  1. padre says:

    Darn, I had a nice set of Tickle Me Elmo hankies picked out for your Christmas present…

  2. realteal says:

    Poor Elmo, the victim.

Leave a Reply

