VirgoVoice

I'm just sayin'

It’s Not The End, But You Can See It From Here!

on September 18, 2012

Well, here we are nearing the end of the Virgo cycle of astrological signs. And it’s my birthday; Happy stupid Birthday. Growing up in the 1960’s I never thought I’d live to be 60. Well, that day is here. Sixty. 6-Oh. I heard 60 is the new 40.  (The person who told me that is racing towards the 60 goal line – of course they would want to believe that) Perhaps, that’s right, though. Just this past weekend I was hauling rocks  – not like on a chain gang, but relocating them from one part of the yard to another. I don’t think my mom would have been doing that at 60. Actually never. But she wasn’t a Virgo – the most desired astrological sign. Research shows that September has the highest birthrate.  Some say it’s August ( those are the premature September births) Virgos are born nine months after the New Year. I guess that’s because no one has any money left after Christmas so they ‘entertain’ at home. I’m one of the lucky ones! As a matter of fact I am a very lucky Virgo. According to the Chinese Zodiac, different than the western zodiac, I am a Dragon. A Virgo Dragon. Who could ask for anything more? Strangely enough, of all the Chinese signs – which are all ‘animals’ the Dragon is mythological. But to be born in the year of the Dragon is so desirable – and 2012 is the year of the Dragon.  It has been reported that millions of Chinese were trying to conceive in 2012. I wonder how that has effected the Chinese economy. Are people staying home more? Or has Rice Wine sales excelled? Incense sales up? According to the Chinese Zodiac, the Dragon is the mightiest of the signs. Yep, the mightiest. The Chinese believe Dragons symbolize such character traits as dominance and ambition. Supposedly, Dragons prefer to ” live by their own rules and if left on their own, are usually successful. They’re driven, unafraid of challenges, and willing to take risks. They’re passionate in all they do and they do things in grand fashion.” Grand fashion? Hummm. I’ll have to think about that.

It is believed that in the western world astrological beliefs correspond between celestial observations and terrestrial events. Millions of people entrust their lives and daily decision makings according to their sign. There is so much to know about one’s sign; are you an earth , water, fire, air?  There has to be something to the ebb and flow of earth’s gravitational pull; farmers have used the moon to determine plantings, explorers have used the stars to direct them to unknown places. So it isn’t unreasonable that at some point humans have used it to base their destiny by celestial observations. Evidence has shown, on cave walls, that these observations were noted as early as the second millennium bc. It all provides an interesting read – Virgo’s are noted to be organized, neat and orderly and baby-steppers in decion making. Am I going to buy stock based on my horoscope? Am I going to end or start a relationship based on my sign? I think not. But I am going to do as I please today.  I just have to narrow it down. Perhaps in true Virgo fashion I’ll put my ideas in a bowl and pick one out. I’m just sayin’.

 

4 responses to “It’s Not The End, But You Can See It From Here!

  1. Noele says:

    HAPPY BIRTHDAY!!!!! xoxo

  2. realteal says:

    Happy Birthday, vv! And one of the younger members of your high school class too.
    Is it the winter weather instead of lack of money/ Just wondering. One of my children was born in September, but I don’t remember why January was good. Good heavens, it’s been twenty-seven years.

Leave a Reply

