VirgoVoice

I'm just sayin'

Puttin’ Up Pickles Or A Margarita?

on August 3, 2012

During the day when I am just walking the dogs, sweeping the floor or watering the few plants the gophers haven’t gotten, yet, random questions, thoughts, ideas pop into my head. Well, recently while I was using a ‘recipe’ with equal parts of vinegar and Dawn Dishwashing liquid to scrub down my glass shower I wondered what the heck is vinegar? I’ve used it all my life – in food preparation, pickled cucumbers and pickled beets. It’s in pickles. There is at least more than twenty kinds of vinegar, white, apple, wine, rice,  the  list continues. So I had to look it up to see what it is. Holy mackerel. According to Wikipedia;

“Vinegar is a liquid substance consisting mainly of acetic acid (CH3CO2H) and water, the acetic acid being produced through the fermentation of ethanol by acetic acid bacteria.[1]It is today mainly used in the kitchen, but historically, as the most easily available mild acid, it had a great variety of industrial, medical, and domestic uses. Commercial vinegar is produced either by fast or slow fermentation processes. In general, slow methods are used with traditional vinegars, and fermentation proceeds slowly over the course of weeks or months. The longer fermentation period allows for the accumulation of a nontoxic slime composed of acetic acid bacteria. Fast methods add mother of vinegar (i.e., bacterial culture) to the source liquid before adding air using a venturi pump system or a turbine to promote oxygenation to obtain the fastest fermentation. In fast production processes, vinegar may be produced in a period ranging from 20 hours to three days.”

Oh, yeah, that clears it up. I did have to look up the ethanol reference. Just because I was pretty sure I have seen an ethanol sign at a gas station.  And yes, it is used as a fuel. It seems ethanol has numerous AKAs – fuel, booze, antiseptic, solvent and is used in the treatment of poisoning by other alcohols. This is what vinegar is derived from. Or partly derived from. We can clean our showers with a form of it. We can drink to get drunk with it. We can use it on a wound. Man, would that be like our moms pouring Iodine on our scraped knees? Or was that Mercurochrome that stung? Do they still make that stuff anymore.? Questions, questions. Anyway, it begs the question, are there other foods that we have multiple uses for? I’m sure there are some old family ‘recipes’ for healing or cleaning naturally. The first thing that comes to mind is peanut butter will take gum out of hair. Try that first before scissors. But right off the top of my head I can’t think of any others.  And frankly, I’m still thinking about vinegar and how did someone decide to try and use it in all those situations. Is it, one day a mom is at home wanting to clean ( Okay, wanting to clean is just an example) and she says, ” Hey, I put up pickles yesterday and have some vinegar left over. Let me see if it’ll clean my windows.”  And then there’s a moonshine guy in the Appalachian mountains and he has a little grain alcohol leftover and he wonders, ” If I can drink myself blind with this stuff what’ll happen if I put this here alcohol in my tractor?”  I am intrigued by the idea of trying things for the first time.Which for some it is their last time. Know what I mean? Like the guy who thinks his homemade parachute is just as good as the expensive store bought one. Or famous last words, “Man, I can do that.” I’m just sayin’ that vinegar and Dawn Soap is a miracle cleaner on glass showers – because of the soap factor I’ve only used it in a shower because I can wash all the soap off. Kind of hard to get all the soap rinsed off if you use it to clean your house windows. But if I have leftover vinegar I can control blood glucose and diabetes management or I can ‘put up’ pickles. I think I’d rather have leftover ethanol. It has more uses that I would probably use – like the drinking alcohol part and then I can fuel my riding lawnmower. See more uses. I can drink and mow your lawn. What could be better than that?

 

PS – The shower cleaning recipe is a must for your glass shower. Equal part of vinegar, heat it to boiling, mix it with the dawn soap ( remember 1-to 1 ratio ) shake and squirt it on the glass, let it set for a couple of minutes and then with little effort and a sponge, Voila, it’s clean. Try it. really. You’ll love it.

2 responses to “Puttin’ Up Pickles Or A Margarita?

  1. Noele says:

    I know somebody that soaked their feet in apple cider vinegar for foot fungus!

  2. Pamela Van Gelder says:

    My daughter Dawn saw on TV that if you have a problem with ants in your kitchen or in you home in general, wipe down your counter tops with straight white vinegar and let it air dry and you won’t have ants come back for a long time. She says she does it about every 6 months and no ants. So I had some of those little critters the other day got out my vinegar and wiped down my counters, let it air dry and the smell really goes away fast and my ants went away. So I told my neighbor about this wonderful idea Dawn saw on TV, our apartment building I swear is built on a huge ant farm every summer everyone gets them. But she tried it and she said it didn’t work. Now I know she is a little, “how can I say this kindly but a little different” so I don’t know if she did it the way I told her or she mixed it with water and then wiped it dry, maybe that’s why she still has ants.

Leave a Reply

