VirgoVoice

I'm just sayin'

Part II Dogs I Have Known and Loved

on July 30, 2012

Bubbles has graced this blog before. But this is such a classic image of her with one ear up and one ear down I had to include her again. Expect to see more of her. She just turned one year. Bubbles lives next door to me and comes over in the morning when her family takes off for work and school. They are barely out of the driveway when she abandons the front door, hurries out of the doggie door and up to our common gate and gives several sharp barks and then waits patiently for me to come open the gate and let her in. She comes in every morning as if she had been gone months. Maybe in dog hours it feels like that. If a dog can be a ‘tomboy’ she is the epitome of it. She is a little tuffy. She will chase down her ‘brother’ an 85-pound golden retriever and take the tennis ball away from him. So when her 12-year old owner dresses her up in ruffly dresses it just makes me laugh. She is an eight pound Yorkshire Terrier.

Whenever I take my dogs in public, to the park, the Home Depot, the pet store, the yogurt shop, wherever…people of all ages want to say hi to them. Some folks come right on up to the dogs. Some people ask first if it’s okay to pet them. And sometimes I can tell someone wants to interact but doesn’t ask, so I ask them, you want to say hi? Or if my dogs act interested in the person I ask them if they’re afraid of dogs? If not, I tell them my dogs want to say hi to them. It has opened some interesting conversations. People tell me stories of their dogs. Or how they’d really like to have a dog but for myriad reasons haven’t done it yet. The dogs are conversation starters. And why not? They’re really cute!! But my two aren’t the only cute dogs out there.

I have more pictures of dogs who belong to family or friends. If I have my camera with me and you have a dog I will eventually end up with a picture of your dog. Luckily, I can still remember which dog belongs to which family or friend. The oldest dog I have contact with when I visit is Tinker. Tinker, a miniature Schnauzer, is seventeen years old. She lives with a great Dane and a cocker-spaniel and two teen-age boys. She holds her own with the all of them. One of the curious aspects of her aging is she moves kind of rickety at times. Maybe a little stiff in the joints. However, she has to go down about 5-stairs to get to the lawn. She’ll get to those stairs and practically fly down them. She’ll walk a few yards to do her business and then slowly head to the stairs. Tinker gets to the stairs and then bounds up them like she is a pup. Then she takes her time to get in the door and get her treat, which she will not let you forget. If I’m there I slip her an extra treat. Or two? What the heck?

This here is tinker

Tinker Belle, aka, Tink is 17-years-old and still getting around on her own power. If you do the ‘dog year’ age she is 119 years-old. You go girl.

Vixen has grown into those ears. She is the offspring of Olive, a West Highland White Terrier and a Dachshund and German Shepard mix. She has a sister who runs with her, they chase each other in their big, grassy backyard. They cool off in a wading pool. How cute is that? However, they have not mastered the art of no chewing. But they’re both working on it. They may have to see Dr. Phil.

Star was a little more than year old when I met her. She is 61/2 years-old now. She and my Phoebe were the best of friends when they were young. They would run full speed and turn on a dime sometimes tumbling over each other. They don’t see each other as much as they used to when they were pups. But this picture I took of Star when she was about 18-months-old. I kept trying to get a shot of her full length but every time I got down on her level, because she didn’t like being up on a table, she would walk up to the camera. So I took one of her looking in the lens and I love it. It’s one of my favorites. Star is an Italian Greyhound and Chihuahua mix. She weighs in at about 10-pounds.

7 responses to “Part II Dogs I Have Known and Loved

  1. Eric Lyon says:

    They are all so cute, Bubbles got big!

  2. Noele says:

    Thanks for including little Tinky!! She now needs assistance every now and then getting down the stairs but so far so good! xoxo

  3. Anna Olson says:

    I used to be afraid of dogs, but now It’s a whole lot better!! Love those sweet, sweet pictures! Those cute faces.

Leave a Reply

