VirgoVoice

I'm just sayin'

Donate Your Two Hours to UNICEF

on July 18, 2012

Earlier this month I recommended a movie I found to be thought provoking and wanted to share it with you; Jeff Who Lives at Home. ( Some people took my suggestion and relayed to me they “LOVED IT”.) Well, this past weekend had scorching temperatures and so it seemed like a good idea to stay inside and catch another good film. I checked all 200 tv movie channels – nothing popped out to me. So I went to Netflix – Seemed as though I’d seen all the good ones they had to offer. ( Well, all the good ones that weren’t westerns or war movies or science fiction ) So I went to the Redbox line-up. Apparently with the extreme triple digit temperatures I was not the only one who had the hole-up-in the-house-movie idea. So I was left scrambling for something decent to watch. Ah-ha. I read a description of a movie that had a good premise; “Former professional baseball superstar, Jimmy Easton, finds himself in trouble for acting out his aggression after he is forced to quit the game he loves. Suffering from a career ending knee injury, he returns to a place he has not been in a very long time…home and confronts dark memories from a tragic past as he tries to make peace with a life he once left behind. Things take an unexpected turn when he is forced back into the world of baseball as the coach of an underachieving college team. Coach Jimmy’s rocky relationship with Brandon Elliot, the team’s only star, forces both of them to deal with their similarly troubled pasts.”  That’s the synopsis.

So there I was standing at the Redbox kiosk, thankfully inside an air conditioned store, trying to rent a movie. I say trying because everything I chose was ‘out of stock’. I was not feeling pressured, there was no one waiting behind me. Most likely because they had already rented the best movies and were sitting home eating chilled watermelon and watching their 5-star film. I continued to peruse movie ads next to the kiosk.  I punch in another title, ‘out of stock’ – Holy mackerel. So as I was flipping through I saw the description for a feel-good kind of movie, One Hit From Home. Ta-Da, it’s available. (there’s a clue) I slide the ol’ credit card, select the movie and it is spewed out of the kiosk. Feeling good about my choice, I head home, get settled in to the big recliner with a cold drink and some munchies and the movie comes on right away – with no trailers preceding it. ( Humm, interesting, because I had made a mental note to write down the names of some interesting movies I would see in the previews. I rarely can remember them when I’m trying to rent a movie. No trailers, I think that may be a clue. ) The credits start rolling, with the slowest soundtrack. I swear it sounded nearly as slow and down-trodden as Taps at a funeral. Well, I figured it’s just setting up the drama of the baseball player’s big let-down. But Noooo, the music continued to drag on. Then the ‘actors’ appeared and started speaking. WThell? If I hadn’t been in my own home I would think I was being pranked. This can’t really be a movie someone spent money on to produce. Oh yes it can. The opening started in black and white with scenes from the ‘stars’ childhood as an avid baseball player. It is really poor acting, filming; all around bad. I was about to turn it off  just as the scene went to color. I thought, oh, like the Wizard of Oz, I bet this gets better; more action. I settle back in to the comfy recliner to wait for the ‘good’ part. But the soundtrack remained funeral-like. And continued verrrrry slowly through his troubled career. I kept thinking this is going to get better. Seriously, it never does. It was awful. Truthfully, I did not watch the whole thing. A root-canal would have been more exciting. I am warning you, do not rent this movie it will only encourage those who made it. Which I noticed afterwards the starring role and the director were one of the same, some guy named David Stone. I don’t know if that should have been a heads up or not. Well, I guess Clint Eastwood has directed and starred in a movie or two. Okay, so maybe that’s not a good barometer to rate a good or bad movie by. But I lost 30 minutes of my life I will never get back. Save yourself a buck and consider yourself warned. Believe me, this is not a trick to get you to watch it. Really. I’m just sayin’, consider it a warning, I have saved you from throwing away a dollar and 2-hours of your life. However, you can throw away your sleeping pill prescription; this is cheaper and will do the  trick. Zzzzzzzzzzzz  – Sorry Mr. Stone, I’m just sayin’ , “Don’t give up your day job.”

2 responses to “Donate Your Two Hours to UNICEF

  1. Eric Lyon says:

    Thanks for the warning and recommendation for a natural sleep aid! I assure you that I will not watch it just to see how bad it really is.

Leave a Reply

