VirgoVoice

I'm just sayin'

Guesstamation . . .

on July 13, 2012

I have to admit math is not my best subject. Oh, I can figure out how much I’m saving at a good shoe sale or the individual price for a 3 for $5.00 deal or buy one get one free sale. That I can do. Please don’t ask me, ‘If a northbound train leaves Union Station in Los Angeles, California,  at 1 p.m.  travels 50 miles per hour the first hour, 60 miles per hour the second hour, has a layover for 15-minutes and then travels 20 miles at a speed of 30 miles per hour through a small town, blows its horn at every crossing and increases its speed to 70 miles per hour and arrives at it’s destination at 6 p.m. How many miles did the train travel? Bonus question: What town is its destination?’

I’m just sayin’, I have no freakin’ idea.  I’m not sure where I’d start to figure it out. I’d probably hop off at the lay-over, have a beer and think about it. I would have questions, starting with why is he fluctuating his speed? And why do I need to know this? Okay, so it’s northbound out of Los Angeles? That would be a coastal route; winding tracks, isn’t 70 miles per hour dangerous on that route?  Did an INS agent get on at the lay-over? So, I umm, do not know the answer. I know there has to be one. You just can’t say there is no answer. Would multiple choice help in this case? Maybe. With multiple choice there’s a chance of being right. So then I might try a few calculations done my own special math way and come up with a number. Well, if that number is close to an answer in the multiple choice, I’d choose that one. I’m not sure what the odds are I’d get many right ( ’cause that’s a math question) but I’m sure the odds are better than leaving any blank. Right?

Well, I think that works as well as Chelsea the young lady in the you tube video trying to figure out the miles per hour question her husband Travis asked her as they were driving.  It’s a must see if you have not seen it yet. Some people think it’s a hoax; difficult to tell. But in the whole scheme of things I am sure there are those who will watch it and feel an iota, an ounce, at least a dollop of empathy. Admit it.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Qhm7-LEBznk

PS – If you figure out the math question let me know the answer … I have a guesstamation!

10 responses to “Guesstamation . . .

  1. Betsy Olson says:

    My guesstimation: 276 miles. As for destination, I have no idea.
    🙂

    • Eric lyons says:

      So you should like this one……I answered the phone at work one day and a woman driving down the freeway asked were our shop was and I said “are you heading north or south? Her response was “I am not sure”. Which should have set off a bell for me but…..
      I said we when you get to FM 1960 st. head east…… I should have seen this coming but she then asked “is that left or right?”. For a brief moment I was contemplating a response because it seemed like a reasonable question. Of course I could have sent her just about anywhere. However I have compassion for directionally challenged and told her to look for the red white and blue interstate sign that would tell you which direction you are heading to which she replied “where are those located?”. I was going to tell her that the sun rose in the east but it was close to noon. So I told her when she got off the freeway to ask someone which way was east

  2. VirgoVoice says:

    Did you watch the video clip of the woman figuring the MPH? So, as a physics extraordinaire did you guess or use math and science??? 🙂

  3. realteal says:

    Hahaha. Shudder. I love the way you expressed “my own special math way.” Didn’t know other people besides me had one. Did you ever do your own math way on scratch paper during a test and glance around wondering if anyone else arrived at the answer with the same method?! The train problems are a classic example for me! Palms a little clammy just remembering. Thanks for the trip, VV! Off to see the poor lady on YouTube.

    • VirgoVoice says:

      If I looked around during a math quiz it was because I was trying to get the answer off someone else!! I once tried to help someone with a similar math issue using my own special math way – it didn’t work…. And yet seemed so reasonable to me. 🙂

Leave a Reply

